Will Sharman: Who knows what’s next?

Click here to see all my posts

What an incredible couple of days, here I am at the World Championships in Berlin I’ve been given the chance to compete against the best in the world, my idols, and I’ve finished fourth in the final, fourth in the world!

A month ago I didn’t even think I would get the chance to race but I proved myself to the selection committee with a personal best just in the nick of time, and the rest as they say is history.

In any other race so far in my career I would have considered myself unlucky to have finished in fourth place, just missing out on the medals, but this is the World Championships and my first real chance on the big stage so just to be in contention with the quality of opposition on show is a big thing for me.

The actual race was a bit of a blur, I know I didn’t run the best technical race, I stumbled near the start and I clipped some of the hurdles but not enough to knock them down. The gun went and the adrenaline had really kicked in, towards the end of the race I couldn’t even see the hurdles, I just ran.

A reporter told me afterwards that my time had put me fifth on the all time British list, which is just such an amazing accomplishment, to be honest I had no idea until he pointed it out but it’s just another bonus on such an amazing night.

After the race people kept asking me what’s next, as I see it I’m only 24 now so by the time the 2012 Olympics in London come around I should be in my prime so I’ll be pushing for the gold medal.

Click here to visit my personal website

